English: Tweeting bird, derived from the initi...

English: Tweeting bird, derived from the initial ‘t’ of Twitter Deutsch: Twitschervogel, entwickelt aus dem Anfangs-‘t’ von Twitter (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t know about the rest of you Indies, but when I first started this journey, it took me six months to get on Twitter. In retrospect, I wish I had done it sooner. What I discovered about Twitter is that it functions as a kind of e-mortar that helped keep all your online efforts linked with each other. Once I started slapping my Twitter handle on everything I posted (including comments), all of my varied activities began to receive noticeably more attention.

Once I was on Twitter, however, I became mired in a two month process of figuring out what the hell to tweet about. Everyone and their dog was already talking about this great Indie Writer article or that one and where to find his or her story download for FREE. Once I had about fifty followers, the volume of the tweets turned each Twitter experience into an unbearable cacophony.  To me, it felt like I and every other writer on Twitter were little piranhas snapping at the same piece of carcass in the water. In reality, only a few of us would actually get to eat while the rest of just flitted in dizzying circles, mesmerized by the blood-smell stuck up our noses.

But that isn’t what was going on. Not at all. And once I adjusted to the sheer volume of information flying across my Twitter page, I became practiced at picking out the gems. And I started promoting other people’s fiction and blog posts and articles alongside my own work. I started using hashtags (particularly if I could fit in a hashtag that was trending) in an attempt to limit my audience and I started mentioning other Twitter users by their handles. And a funny thing happened as these good habits fell into place, one by one– I started getting followers.

I don’t have a lot of followers yet, but it was reaffirming to watch the numbers suddenly start to jump by five and ten percent after a handful of serious, two-hour twitter sessions during which I used every trick I knew (which weren’t many). Finally, I began to feel like my tweeting efforts were more than just farting through my keyboard. Therefore, in an efforts to keep your finger-farting time to a minimum, I want to share this information with you.

This is some of that actually useful information that will actually help you with the business end of being an Indie writer. Not all of the information in this graphic will be useful (NO Indie writer wonders how much he should spend on social media marketing–the answer is always NOTHING) but much of it will be. You can limit how much time you spend on Twitter by knowing what practices will get you the most exposure.

So until next time, keep Tweeting and stop Farting, and always keep your love of writing in mind. Ciao!

twitter infographic best practices maximizing your tweets infographicA Twitter infographic by Fusework Studios

Leave a Reply

