Sales

Sales (Photo credit: Nils Geylen)

Let’s be honest. We all share a common goal and thus we want to help each other, but we’re also desperately seeking to distinguish ourselves from the pack. Marketing is definitely how we do that (even as we hate every second we invest into it).

I came across a new source of information for building an indie platform today. I approached this source with the same skepticism I harbor for all advice-givers, but I was disappointed to find an honest sales-person. Because of her honesty, I trust her. Nothing garners trust like a salesperson who’s willing to say out loud, “Hey, I get a commission for this.”

And honestly, though she was plugging a product that costs money, there are free options that can stand in for these paid services. I’m test-driving one now, so hopefully I will have a new post for you in a month or two about how brilliantly I succeeded or how miserably I sunk. Look for it.

Email lists are not a marketing strategy to which I’d given much thought in the past. I’ve been far too busy building Twitter, Wattpad, and WordPress followings to even think about sending emails to people. However, Kimberly Grabas, author of the blog “Your Writer Platform” makes an excellent argument for lending your sorely stretched attention to building an email list.You can find her article here: http://www.yourwriterplatform.com/writers-guide-to-an-email-list/

She even takes the time and effort to tell you HOW to do it (when so many advisers think it’s sufficient to tell you only WHY you need it). I won’t be following her suggestions to the letter since she was (though admittedly) plugging a paid service to help you with your efforts.

WordPress provides a similar service for free, even if you use the free .wordpress blog type. It’s the “insert contact form” function. As I’ve said, I don’t know how useful this is yet, as I’ve just started using it. But I will report back to you (hopefully with positive results) as soon as I have enough experience to judge!

Until next time, fellow Indies, remember to enjoy your Under-Belly and hopefully avoid the Indie Burial Ground.

*UPDATE* The lovely and increasingly likeable Ms. Kimberly Grabas herself was the FIRST to use the new feature I’ve added to my posts– the contact form you see below. She also recommended a great free service called MailChimp for those of you who, like me, want to start with free marketing options. Here’s the comment she left for me in it’s whole:

Thanks for mentioning my article in your post, and for appreciating my ‘non-underhanded’ approach to marketing 🙂

I agree, some free products are great. But others, well, I think you get what you pay for…

The email service I recommend in my article is what I use for my business (and several email lists), but if you want a good free option –up to 2000 subscribers– Mailchimp may be your best bet.

Good luck with your list building!

Kimberley

What an amazingly lovely woman, no? And further evidence that indies with soul want each other to succeed. Good luck to you all with your list-building, no matter which service you choose!

*I would love to be in touch with you! Fill out this form and tell me a little about what your write. I would love to review your fiction or feature your useful Indie writing advice on my blog. I’m all for the one-for-all indie culture!

Comments
  1. Sean Lauder says:

    I happen to be commenting to let you be aware of what a brilliant discovery my girl experienced using your web page. She came to find too many things, with the inclusion of how it is like to have a great teaching style to make many more without difficulty have an understanding of various tortuous matters. You undoubtedly surpassed readers’ expectations. Thanks for rendering those informative, trusted, explanatory and also unique tips on that topic to Lizeth.

Leave a Reply

